Education News

Six Educators Named Teacher of the Year Finalists

TEA has released the names of the six exceptional educators from around Texas as finalists for the annual Texas Teacher of the Year program.

Northside ISD fifth grade teacher June Shanahan from Scobee Elementary is one of the top six candidates. This is the third time a Northside ISD teacher has been named as a finalist. Shanahan’s service of over 18 years and her dynamic approach to teaching and hands-on learning has earned her the recognition. The other five teachers include:

• Karen Morman, a reading specialist at J.W. Webb Elementary School in McKinney Independent School District (ISD);
• Erika Pierson, a first-grade teacher at Live Oak Elementary in Round Rock ISD;
• Tracy Pippins, a chemistry and biology teacher at Graham High School in Graham ISD;
• Stephanie Stoebe, a reading teacher at Round Rock High School in Round Rock ISD;
• Steven Singleton, a biology teacher at Randall High School in Canyon ISD.

The next step includes interviews with a larger panel in Austin on Sept. 6. The top two finalists from elementary and secondary schools will be announced at the Awards Ceremoy on Oct. 14.

• Read the entire press release at TEA News.
• Read more about June Shanahan on the Northside ISD District News site.