In a press release announcement last week, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) announced 15 area Texans as recipients of the 2012 Heroes for Children award.

Of those 15 public school volunteers named, San Antonio volunteer Rachel Ponce was nominated for her commitment and work at San Antonio ISD’s Young Women’s Academy.

According to the press release, honorees are selected by the State Board members and recognized for volunteering their time to help improve the public schools in their communities. Award recipients each receive a certificate of honor, a copy of the resolution scheduled for board approval, and photographs commemorating the ceremony. Additionally, engraved plaques bearing the name of each of the 15 heroes will be permanently displayed at Texas Education Agency headquarters.

The 2012 Heroes for Children recipients include:
– Georgia Hayse (Ector County ISD
– Patricia Hailbach (Corpus Christi ISD)
– Rachel Ponce (San Antonio ISD)
– Margaret Wilgis (Houston ISD)
– Ralph Pfluger (Hays CISD)
– Carol R. Zelle (Alief ISD)
– Lynn E. Wright (Galenda Park ISD)
– Cherrie Edwards (Magnolia ISD)
– Sunita Patel (Frisco ISD)
– Abby Alderete (Thrall ISD)
– Jerry Durant (Weatherford ISD)
– Jeff Livingston (Irving ISD)
– N. Carolyn Wicker (Grand Prairie ISD)
– Virgie L. Lee (Newcastle ISD)
– Bob Tate (Lubbock ISD)

Read the entire press release at the Texas Education Agency.

Photo Courtesy: —Texas Education Agency
Pictured: 2011 Heroes for Children recipeints.