St. Mary’s University announces new president

Thomas Mengler, J.D., was unanimously selected by the St. Mary’s University Board of Directors as the 13th president.

He will take on the new leadership role effective June 1, 2012 when St. Mary’s University President Charles Cotrell, Ph.D., steps down after 13 years as the university’s first lay president.

Mengler has served as the dean of the University of St. Thomas Law School for the last nine years. During his tenure there, the law school’s enrollment jumped, the fundraising surpassed the $100 million mark, and the law school received ABA accreditation in February 2006.

He earned a Bachelor of Arts from Carleton College, an M.A. in philosophy and a J.D. from the University of Texas, where he served on the law review.

Read more about this story at St. Mary’s University News Center.

Photo Courtesy: St. Mary’s Univeristy/University of St. Thomas