High School

SAMSEC honors math & science educators

SAMSEC honors math & science educators

Over the last couple of weeks, SAMSEC officials, civic leaders and community members made surprise classroom visits to some very deserving science and math teachers around San Antonio.

At an Awards Ceremony at the Education Resource Center Region 20, the San Antonio Math & Science Education Coalition (SAMSEC) awarded 12 recipients the 2012 San Antonio Mayoral and County Judge Outstanding Math and Science Teacher Award. The award honors math and science teachers with less than five years of teaching experience for their innovative work in the classroom. The intent of the award is to encourage these teachers to continue in the profession.

Darryl Byrd, SA2020 executive director, was the event’s keynote speaker and Dr. Michael Soto, associate professor of English & director of the McNair Scholars Program at Trinity University, presented the awards.

Sponsorship of Mayoral and County Judge Award
Each recipient received an award of $1,000. H-E-B Grocery and Kelly Aviation sponsored this year’s awards. Additional supporters included the City of San Antonio, Bexar County, Lockheed Martin, Pape Dawson Engineers, UTSA, Our Lady of the Lake University, the University of Incarnate Word, Trinity University, San Antonio College, Diligent Consulting, Da Vinci Minds, P16Plus Council of Greater Bexar County and Education Service Center Region 20.

To become a sponsor or support the program with a donation, contact Dr. Joe Lazor at jlazor@satx.rr.com.

Award Recipients
Elizabeth Kreager – Alamo Heights High School
Colby Bishop, Salado Intermediate
Amy Schillerstrom, East Central High School
Linda Mann, Savannah Heights Intermediate
Tyler Montgomery, Hector Garcia Middle School
Allison Carter, Lieck Elementary School
Caroline Newsom, Walzem Elementary School
Kristen Guerra, Tejeda Middle School
Matthew Patty, Jackson Middle School
Cacey Wells, International School of the Americas
Josue Rodriguez, Southwest High School
Carrie Pullins, Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Learn more about SAMSEC
Learn about SA2020
Learn about the McNairs Scholars Program at Trinity University.