Celebrate H-E-B’s Education Award winners

Celebrate H-E-B’s Education Award winners

Top educators are recognized for their outstanding work at gala event.

Statewide winners were announced for the H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards during a celebration in Houston last weekend.

The finalists included 40 educators, 7 school districts, 5 early childhood facilities, and 5 school boards. All participants were invited to honor their excellent commitment to education.

The Rising Star Category recognizes the excellent achievements of teachers with less than 10 years classroom experience. Those winners included Celina Miller (Elementary category) from Pharr, Texas, and a San Antonio educator, Mary Lagleder from Warren High School (Secondary Category). Both winners each received $5,000 and an additional $5,000 for their respective schools.

The Leadership Category celebrates educators with 10 – 20 years classroom experience. The two winners in this category included Nicholas Solis from Austin (Elementary Category) and Bart Taylor from College Station (Secondary Category). Each winner received $10,000 and an additional $10,000 grant for their school.

The Lifetime Achievement Award salutes teachers with more than 20 years experience. The top winners were Connie Bagley from San Marcos and Rosbel Pena from Alton, Texas. The veteran teachers each receive $25,000 in cash and a $25,000 grant for the school.

The award for Elementary School Principal  goes to Grace Graves of Chilton, Texas. She will receive a cash prize of $10,000 for herself and $25,000 grant for her school. The Secondary High School Principal award goes to Jason Johnston of Rockwall, TX. The winner in this category receives $10,000 for himself and $25,000 grant for his school.

The Small School District category awarded $50,000 in cash prizes to KIPP Houston Public Schools. The large school district received $100,000 in cash prizes.

The Early Childhood Award was presented to the Child Care Group from Dallas, TX. The early childhood facility received a $25,000 grant.

A new award category this year, the School Board Award, honors school board members for their dedication to the districts they serve. Temple ISD received a $25,000 grant.

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners for your dedication and excellent teaching.

Read the entire story at
Learn more about the Excellence in Education Awards.

Photo Courtesy: Dave Rossman