Texas teachers named as finalists for excellence

Texas teachers named as finalists for excellence

Two San Antonio teachers tapped for teaching awards.

Commissioner of Education Michael Williams announced that eight Texas teachers have  been recommended for the 2013 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Two San Antonio teachers were among the eight nominees, including Amy Ferguson, who teaches Algebra II in the North East Independent School District, and Michalle McAllister, eighth-grade science teacher  for Fort Sam Houston Independent School District.

National winners will be announced next summer. Winners receive $10,000, a citation signed by the President of the United States, and a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to attend recognition events and professional development opportunities.

Read the entire press release at Texas Education Agency.