Two SA Teachers Tapped for Presidential Award

Two SA Teachers Tapped for Presidential Award

Teachers from across the nation are being recognized for inspiring students to embrace science and math.

The annual Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) finalists were recently announced by the Texas Education Agency (TEA). Two of the six Texas candidates are from San Antonio schools.

Kent Page, an academic support teacher, teaches science at Carnahan Elementary School in the Northside Independent School District.

Kelli Halliburton is an instructional coach from Clear Spring Elementary School in the North East Independent School District.

According to the award overview, the PAEMST program recognizes math and science teachers in grades K – 12 whose instructional methods enhance student learning.

The six Texas candidates will move on to the national competition where a panelist of mathematicians and scientists may recommend two finalists from each state. Award winners are honored with special events in Washington D.C. and receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and a signed certificate from the President of the United States.

Read the entire story at the TEA News site.
Learn about PAEMST.
Read more about Mr. Page at NISD News.
Read more about Coach Halliburton at NEISD News.

Photo Courtesy: Official White House Photo by Lawrence Jackson
President Barack Obama greets, makes remarks and takes a picture with PAEMST recipients in the East Room of the White House, May 20, 2011.